Today I ventured downtown to the Ripley’s Aquarium of Canada. Unfortunately I hadn’t realized that today was a York Region District School Board PA Day, so the place was absolutely swarming with children.

LOBBY

While exploring the Canadian Waters gallery I was impressed by the immense size of the Alaskan King crabs and American lobsters. The Pacific Kelp exhibit and Rainbow Reef gallery were equally impressive, but both galleries paled in comparison to the panoramic tunnel in the Dangerous Lagoon. I admit that I was a little disappointed in the lack of sea turtles swimming about the exhibit, as I only saw one on my first (out of three) visits through the tunnel.

CANADIAN WATERS GALLERY

RAINBOW REEF GALLERY

DANGEROUS LAGOON GALLERY

DISCOVERY CENTRE

THE GALLERY

RAY BAY GALLERY

Another really cool spot was the Planet Jellies gallery as it was home to a kreisel (a special black light tank designed especially for jellyfish). The touch tanks were also really fun, there were plenty of sting rays in the water and a lot of them were swimming close enough to the edge of the pool to let people touch them. Although they had a couple of hand sanitizing stations around the immediate area, I was a little bit surprised that there wasn’t a washroom nearby so people could actually wash and dry their hands/arms after sticking them into the sting ray pool.

PLANET JELLIES GALLERY

LIFE SUPPORT SYSTEMS

Ripley's Aquarium of Canada

TOUCH TANKS

All in all I think I got my money’s worth, as I spent around six and a half hours exploring and photographing the aquarium. I really enjoyed the space and am positive that a return visit is in the cards (hopefully on a day that doesn’t coincide with an elementary school PA Day).

CARGO HOLD GIFT SHOP

Jellyfish light fixture
Jellyfish light fixture
